There are many thoughts in ones mind this evening. Like what a strange tradition it is to be dressed as a zombie in mid August. Its nobody's birthday, its definately not Halloween and I'm sure there has not been some outbreak of a deadly zombie like virus in recent weeks, meaning that in fact, these people are real zombies. Of course I would be making Like Simon Pegg and going to the Winchester for a beer, until it all blew over.
Maybe I'm just past the need to unnecessarily cover myself in make up,rip up my clothes and scare the crap out of people these days. saying that, I probably don't need a 'theme night' to do that, just a long week of work on no sleep and a lack of coffee would be enough...
I think a lot of people were thinking I was going to be the life and soul when I got to the mountain. You know, a party animal type, dancing until the early hours and drinking myself blind at every opportunity. That's not the version of me they've received though, I hope they aren't disappointed. Maybe it is a little sad that I'm only 23 and already career driven and focused. Right now I have the chance to see a beautiful country. And I'm working hard to make sure its the greatest experience. Why on earth would I F that up by drinking away my money, making a fool of myself and having nothing but a headache to show for it. No, I'm happy to be here working hard, head down and snowboarding at every opportunity. There are other ways to have fun.
Clearly I'm not the social butterfly I once was, I'm content with growing up as I am. I still have friends and things are very much going my way.
But don't make the mistake in thinking this girl has hung up her dancing shoes... I still know how to shake it on the dancefloor and turn on the charm. But I do it on my terms, when I'm in the mood. Picking my social episodes carefully.
No comments:
Post a Comment